*Environmental Nobel Prizes for People Who Heal Our Food World*

The Goldman Prize (fondly known as the Environmental Nobel) is given to 6 people each year. American Lynn Henning won this year for revealing how the cruel factory farm industry in Michigan was poisoning water supplies and air – and for persisting in her tireless work despite threats and intimidation. Read more here.

Meanwhile, in Cuba, Humberto Rios discovered that some farmers had never adopted “modern” farming methods, and that their traditional practices could help the nation rebuild their land and food system. Read more here.

In nearby Costa Rica, Randall Arauz led a campaign to stop the horribly cruel practice of getting shark fin (a delicacy in China). Read more here.

*Earth-Friendly Food Chain salutes Lynn Henning, Humberto Rios, and Randall Arauz!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: